Sustainer’s Corner

Officers 2016-2018

Chair:  Debbie Allen

Vice Chair:  Barbara Coleman

Corresponding Secretary:  Staci Baird

Recording Secretary:  Rosemary Calhoun

Treasurer:  Bev Grissom

JLDB SUSTAINERS December, 2015
DECEMBER 9, 2015 – Oceanside Country Club
Sustainers Holiday Meeting with Actives
Come raise a toast to the League – and its members, both Sustaining and Active – on
Wednesday, December 9 at OCC. The festivities begin at 5:30 p.m. and continue until
8:00 p.m.ish! The cost is $20 per person for hors d’oeuvres with cash bar. We will also
be accepting donations for one of the Actives’ current projects (see below).
Oceanside Country Club
75 N Halifax Dr., Ormond Beach
Reservations Required
RSVP to Paul via phone at 253-1756 or email
Sustainers First Meeting of the New Year & Bundles 2015 Report Out
Ring in the New Year with Sustainers on Tuesday, January 12, at a Peppercorns Café in
Port Orange. Don’t let the name fool you — this is fine dining in a cozy atmosphere.
Opened just over a year, Peppercorns was voted “Best New Restaurant” in the latest
News-Journal poll. It also took home awards in four additional categories. Owned by a
female restauranteur, with a kitchen headed by a female chef, you’ll want to join us for a
wonderful evening. We know you will leave full of tasty food and a new venue to return
to, inspired by their stories, and aglow with the warmth of JLDB friendship. We will have
the place to ourselves – so just think of the possibilities and the fun!
Menu offers 4 choices of Entree:
Shrimp & Grits Chicken Diane Petit Filet Pasta (vegetarian)
Incudes Salad Bread Dessert
$25 per person, includes tax & gratuity
Cash bar (wine & beer) available
Peppercorn’s Café
201 Commonwealth Blvd, Suite D, Port Orange
Reservation Limit: 50 seats      Reservation deadline: Friday, December 31
Call Paul in the League office or email him to reserve a seat
Specify entree
Make check payable to: JLDB Sustainers Note in Memo line: Bundles
Mail check to: Ann Kashmer
3059 John Anderson Drive, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Social time begins at 5:15. Dinner starts at 6:30 p.m.
How Sustainers Can Help the Actives and Our Community
Sustainers can help support our JLDB Actives by donating to one of their current
projects. Please bring your donation to either or both our December, 2015 holiday
meeting at OCC or to our January, 2016 meeting at Peppercorns Café.
Diaper Bank – Did you know that the Food Stamp or WIC programs do not cover
diapers? Many infants and toddlers spend the day in single diaper, unfathomable for
many, but it happens daily. The JLDB has started the only Diaper Bank in our
community. Families are referred to the Diaper Bank by the Early Learning Coalition,
Healthy Start, Healthy Families, and Early Steps. While the JLDB has collected
approximately 30,000 diapers and only dispenses 30 diapers per visit, you can see the
need by your own mathematics and knowledge of the number of diapers a baby uses in
a week. You donations of diapers – in any size (but size 6 is especially needed right
now) and wipe packets — would be appreciated.
Human Trafficking Committee – The JLDB has been called to action by providing
education and training to the local public to create awareness of an unthinkable crime of
human trafficking internationally and in our community. Along with information, the
JLDB provides backpacks with necessities (soap, toothpaste, deodorant, feminine
hygiene, sweatpants, sweatshirt, sport bra, socks, towel) for distribution by the Daytona
Beach Police Department and the Volusia County Sheriff’s Office to victims of this
crime. Your donation can help a woman (or man) feel a little more human with basic necessities.